Deleting pupils

Occasionally, you may need to permanently delete a pupil from Insight. For example, if they were added in error.

If you have a large number of pupils that need to be deleted (for example, if the wrong CTF has been imported) then you should contact Insight Support with details.

Only Admin users may delete pupils.

All data relating to the pupil will be deleted including:

  • Pupil details
  • Pupil contacts
  • Notes and attachments
  • Historical assessments
  • Attendance data
  • Learning plans
  • Provisions
  • Parent reports
  • Audit entries

Any deleted pupil will no longer be considered, or represented, in any display, report or analysis. For example, any historical statutory assessments for a pupil will be deleted and so no longer considered in any cohort % calculations etc. If you want to retain this data in Insight, you should consider Archiving the pupil instead.

Once you are sure you require a pupil deletion, proceed as follows.

  1. Open the Profile page for the pupil you want to delete.

This could be done via Admin > Manage Pupils > Edit or via Pupils > select pupil > Profile tab > Edit Profile

Pupil Profile
  1. Click Delete Pupil.
  2. You'll need to confirm the deletion to proceed.
Once deleted, that pupil, and their associated data, will no longer be available. It is not possible to restore the pupil and their data.

Data Retained After Pupil Deletion

  • Insight data is routinely backed up daily at midnight. When a pupil is deleted, their data is retained in backup archives for a maximum of 14 days from the point of deletion, depending on the exact timing of the deletion relative to the backup cycle. After this period, the data is permanently deleted.
  • If the pupil had a UPN, it may appear in system logs. These logs are retained for up to 45 days after the pupil’s deletion date, after which any references to the UPN are permanently removed.
  • If you have imported CTFs or other files containing pupil data into Insight, these are retained in the secure file upload area for 12 months. When you delete a pupil, Insight will not remove the pupil from these files.


How did we do?

Powered by HelpDocs (opens in a new tab)